Recovery at work

← All evidence databases

Compare published addiction and recovery policies, provision by provision.

Coverage: 30 reviewed public employer documents. A purposive pilot, not a representative survey or a guarantee of current HR practice.

This is a purposive pilot of publicly accessible employer policies, not a representative employer survey. We record explicit provisions and their conditions. “Not stated” means the reviewed document does not specify a provision; it does not mean support is never offered. Written policy is not evidence of implementation. Safety and conduct requirements remain separate from support for recovery.

Open the tool in a full window ↗ · Full CSV · Full JSON

Pilot findings · Proposed model policy

Findings from release 1.1

What 30 public employer documents put in writing about treatment time and recovery. The sample contains 13 universities, ten NHS bodies, five councils and two other bodies; it is not representative of UK employers.

27 documents describe a treatment-time route. Seven contain express paid treatment/appointment wording; six further records expressly use sick-pay terms. Fourteen identify a route without establishing payment, and three lack an identified treatment-time provision within the examined scope. These categories describe wording, not staff experience or unconditional entitlements.

Provision Explicitly identified Not identified in scope Not reviewed
Confidentiality 30 0 0
Voluntary help-seeking 29 1 0
Treatment time 27 3 0
Relapse / recurrence 21 8 1
Return / rehabilitation 27 3 0
Safety / impairment 29 1 0
Occupational health 28 2 0

Conditions are recorded separately. “Explicit” includes conditional provisions; “not identified” is not “never offered”. The seven express-paid passages were rechecked on 16 October; the sick-pay category is a recode of existing evidence descriptions. Other leave terms may exist outside reviewed documents.

New checks identified Hywel Dda V6 and its treatment guidance, resolved Public Health Wales’s lapse diagram and examined Salisbury’s three appendices. Policy currency and implementation remain separate questions.

Read CLA’s proposed model policy

Full findings, methods and record index · Previous releases and changes

Cite and reuse

Civil Liberties Action (2026). Recovery at work [Dataset]. Version 1.1, 2026-10-16. https://cla-political-finance.copperchime4.chatgpt.site/databases/releases/2026-10-16-v1.1/workplace-research.html

For an individual observation, cite its fixed-version record and the original source. Credit original publishers for their figures; CLA supplies the compilation, coding and stated analysis. Reuse terms.

Source examples

Methods, review limits and corrections. Release 2026-10-16; AI-assisted compilation, with no independent external review completed.